January Summary

I’ve started 2012 incredibly well in terms of reading. I managed to polish off ten books very swiftly and there wasn’t a dud in sight. Some of them you will have seen reviewed here, others have reviews forthcoming. So, without further ado let’s have a look at January’s books.

January’s Best Read

By John Green

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel had prepared herself to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs…for now. Two years later, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means) Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours kept at bay with a constant chemical assault. Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and to Hazel’s surprise interested in her. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind. REVIEW HERE!

Also read:

I can’t wait to tell you about The Lifeboat in March, it’s going to be a book to watch this year and will do very well. The Radleys and Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close were both great books and their reviews should be up later this week.

Any regular readers may have noticed that I am no longer rating out of 5 stars on the blog. I don’t like to slap a score on my reviews because that simple five point scale is utterly vague. Even after breaking it down on my about page, there are times when I utterly enjoy a book and would recommend it to everyone, but it won’t score fives stars for a certain reason. Also, I hate to write 500+ words for someone to just look how many stars it got and then close the page.

The stars don’t give the full story, the words do. It’s in what I want to say about the book that matters, not the numerical score that so fixates everyone else. As of now, you won’t see a score based system here as I believe it is pointless. I will still throw a star rating on a book on Goodreads (and I may even stop that soon, too), mainly because I don’t write my reviews there. Therefore that is just a snapshot of my opinion… don’t put too much weight on those stars!

What’s coming up?

I will have an interview with Julianna Baggott, author of Pure, coming up in the next few days. There are plenty of reviews waiting in the wings and I’m very close to finishing The Art of Fielding and The Land of Decoration, so look out for opinions on those, too. I have lots of proofs sitting here, but I’m hoping February will be all about the TBR pils and I’m hoping to get to some DuMaurier and Atwood.

2 thoughts on “January Summary

Leave a Reply

