Booker Shortlist Thoughts…

So, the Booker shortlist has just been announced. Yesterday I blogged about what I wanted to see on the shortlist, my choices were:

  • The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers
  • The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
  • Far to Go by Alison Pick
  • Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan

Well, it turns out I’m not to bad in selecting the shortlist as I got four out of the six correct. I’m disappointed that Jane Rogers didn’t make the list as the novel really speaks of the times and society we live in. Regardless, I’m very happy to see such a shortlist, it is one of diversity. Now I will route for DeWitt to take the prize. Below is the final shortlist:

  • The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt
  • Jamrach’s Menagerie by Carol Birch
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
  • Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan
  • Snowdrops by A.D. Miller
  • The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

Good luck to all of the finalists!

What do you think of the shortlist?

One thought on “Booker Shortlist Thoughts…

  1. bookmonkey

    I also love the shortlist! Some really interesting titles and much more contemporary. I’m glad there’s no Hollinghurst! It’s just too typical. I think it will be between The Sisters Brothers and Jamrach’s Managerie myself…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

