New Books #1

I thought I would follow along with the rest of the book blogging community and occasionally post up pics of the books that have entered my abode recently. Hopefully some of you may have read some of them and can give your opinions. (Excuse the awful pictures and geekery that covers my desk).

First up, review copies that have dropped through the door this week.

The Warrior Heir and The Wizard Heir are parts one and two of a trilogy based around fantasy archetypes living among us. It sounds awfully Harry Potter, but it isn’t at all. If it could be compared to anything it would be the Lorien books by Pittacus Lore. I finished Warrior Heir earlier today and the review should be up on Monday.

The Wrong Place is a graphic novel by a Flemish watercolour artist. It looks beautiful and the story seems interesting from what I have read. Though I can already tell that this is a rather adult graphic novel from the gratuitous sex scene within its pages.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is a novel that is currently buzzing on Twitter and in the blogging community. Emma over at Book Monkey has done nothing but goad me into reading it. She’ll be happy that I started it today and 50 pages in, am already hooked.

Reamde is a novel that I am surprised didn’t cripple my postie. A novel based around an online videogame community is incredibly interesting for me, as such a fan of them. I’m hoping that I can finish and enjoy it before my wrists give out.

After some charity shop hunting earlier today I bagged the books above to add to the ever growing TBR pile.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is a novel I’ve heard mention of in the past and strangely enough read about on LitMusings, just this morning. Fate obviously wanted me to read it… eventually.

I grabbed a World Book Night edition of Life of Pi. I’m yet to read this book and as someone who took part in World Book Night (handing out One Day) I am always on the hunt for novels with the branding (so far I have seven) so this had to be bought.

Then, A Week in December. I’m a fan of Faulks and despite this having rather mixed reviews I really want to give it a try.

Although I wasn’t planning on buying any books for a while, I couldn’t resist these ones. Hopefully I’ll get to them soon.

Has anyone read any of the above? Opinions?

One thought on “New Books #1

  1. bookmonkey

    ugh Life of Pi. *hated* it and couldn’t finish it! Good luck 😀 But YAY for Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Also very surprised Reamde made it to you in one piece. IT IS HUGE! lol. It’s been pretty popular at work though 🙂 And I’m going to check out this Warrior Heir.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

