Happy New Year… Service Will Be Resumed Very Soon…

Personally I don’t celebrate New Year, but that won’t stop me from wishing you all a very Happy New Year. It also doesn’t stop me from concocting some New Year resolutions. Many of them are life improving and there is no time for them on this blog, however my New Year Reading Resolution is perfect blogging material.

My reading resolution is three-fold.

  • Read more classic literature.
  • Explore more genres and styles.
  • Most importantly, to read what I want, when I want.

The first two points are rather self-explanatory, to be honest. That third point seems utterly obvious, but that isn’t how I read in 2011. I am very lucky to receive ARCs and review copies from publishers but I also support the industry by buying an obscene amount of books and adding to my TBR (In fact I’ve already bought eight books for my Kindle and I only got it on Boxing day). This blog is to showcase the books that I am reading and have read, I am a reader above all. There are times when, despite having six or seven review copies next to me, I may want to grab a ten year old Atwood novel.

I’ve noticed with a lot of book bloggers recently, that many just want to read what takes their attention, rather than what might have dropped through the letterbox first. By reading what takes our fancy, surely we will enjoy the novel more? If I sit and force myself to read a book that I don’t fancy, there’s a strong chance that I will struggle to push through the opening pages at least, therefore not enjoying it as much as I could.

This is a book blog and all books count, not just the latest releases. I want to enjoy what has come before, what people recommend and more obscure titles. I just want to read.

One thought on “Happy New Year… Service Will Be Resumed Very Soon…

  1. ForTheLoveOfBooks

    Hello!
    I really enjoyed reading this post. I thought what you said about reading what you want, when you want was interesting because not being able to do that was one of the reasons I stopped being an English major. I’m not someone that likes to be given deadlines on when to finish books and that’s something that bugs me when you read for University. So it was nice to see someone else talking about that! Also I’d definitely recommend the book The Yacoubian Building if you haven’t read it yet. It’s by Alaa Al-Aswany and it was a really good read 🙂

    Good Luck on your 2012 Book Challenge and Happy New Year 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

