F. Scott Fitzgerald Reading Week (14-20 May)

I’ve been wanting to do a reading week on the blog for a while now and as you can quite likely tell from the title of this post and the picture to the left, I have decided to set up a reading week for the works of F. Scott Fitzgerald. I originally read The Great Gatsby last year and it swiftly became one of my favourite novels. I followed this by reading a chunk of Fitzgeralds short stories which I enjoyed. I find that Fitzgerald was a truly remarkable writer whose talent was astounding.

I now find myself longing to read more of his work – much of which is housed on my bookcase/Kindle – but always put review copies and such ahead of this goal. Not any more.

Between the dates of 14th May and 20th May I will only be reading the works of Fitzgerald and I’d like for you to join in. You don’t have to fill your week with his books, you can just read one if you choose to. It would be great to see people blogging about Fitzgerald and his career, even if you want to debate his work critically. I will be posting throughout that week with plenty of Fitzgerald pieces including reviews of the books I have read.

Please do join in, spread the word and read. If you want to grab the logo above and use it in your posts, then feel free to. If you do decide to join in, then please pop a comment below with a link to your blog (or Goodreads page if you don’t have a blog), it would be brilliant to have a little community reading together during the week! You can find a list below of all of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novels and short story collections. If you want a really cheap and easy way to take part and you own a Kindle then you can buy the full works for the paltry (and possibly insulting) sum of £1.32 on Amazon.

Novels

  • This Side of Paradise (1920)
  • The Beautiful and Damned (1922)
  • The Great Gatsby (1925)
  • Tender Is the Night (1934)
  • The Last Tycoon – originally The Love of the Last Tycoon – (published posthumous, 1941)

Short story collections

  • Flappers and Philosophers (1920)
  • Tales of the Jazz Age (1922)
  • All the Sad Young Men (1926)
  • Taps at Reveille (1935)
  • Afternoon of an Author (1957)
  • Babylon Revisited and Other Stories (1960)
  • The Pat Hobby Stories (1962)
  • The Basil and Josephine Stories (1973)
  • The Price Was High: Fifty Uncollected Stories (1979)
  • The Short Stories of F. Scott Fitzgerald (1989)

Other notable work

  • The Crack-Up – Collection of essays, notebook excerpts, and letters (1945)

 

2 thoughts on “F. Scott Fitzgerald Reading Week (14-20 May)

  1. afictionhabit

    Hi,
    I would love to read along with you, although I am a pretty slow reader so I might only manage 1 book and a couple of short stories. I’ll also miss the start unfortunately as I get back from a trip to Berlin on 19th…but despite all of that, I’m in!! This seems like a much more manageable mini-challenge than some I’ve come across which seem a bit daunting! I’ve read “The Great Gatsby” but would love to try one of the other novels. Sarah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

