April Summary

April has been a funny month for me. I managed to storm through six books despite health issues and real life getting in the way. There were a few times when I found that I just couldn’t decide what to read and I think I picked up about 10 books this month where I read the first 30 pages and put them back down again. Not because they were bad, but they didn’t fit my mood. Also worth noting that the Fitzgerald reading week is going to be pushed back due to time constraints. I’ll update the blog when I can to change the dates.

April’s Best Read

This is a brilliant coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of the Cold War and events leading up to the Cuban Missile Crisis. Clem Ackroyd lives with his parents and grandmother in a claustrophobic home too small to accommodate their larger-than-life characters in the bleak Norlfolk countryside. Clem’s life changes irrevocably when he meets Frankie, the daughter of a wealthy farmer, and experiences first love, in all its pain and glory. The story is told in flashback by Clem when he is living and working in New York City as a designer, and moves from the past of his parents and grandmother to his own teenage years. Not only the threat of explosions, but actual ones as well, feature throughout in this latest novel from one of the finest writers working today.

Hmm, I’m putting Life by Mal Peet as my book of April yet I haven’t actually reviewed it yet. Oops. I will rectify that over the weekend and explain why it is such a brilliant book.

Also Read:

May is promising to be a brilliant month for reading. It seems that many publishers are unleashing their best books this month. Books of note that I will be reading are The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Simon Mawer, Railsea by China Mieville and Seating Arrangements by Maggie Shipstead. I’ve also got a few advanced titles for June and July that I’ll be diving into with gusto. Thanks for reading, as always!

Leave a Reply

