SSDD #2 – Emma AKA Book Monkey

The second person at the table is Emma who runs the book blog, Book Monkey. Emma was one of the first book bloggers I began speaking with and she has great taste in what she reads. Emma is also a bookseller for Waterstones in Cheltenham. You can follow her on Twitter, too.

1. Which author inspires you? Whether in your work, life or reading habits.

China Mieville! I’m sure you knew I would throw in his name in here somewhere. But in all seriousness now, I know I will never be able to write like he does, but what I admire him for is not only his ability and talent to be able to write such varied stories, and of course his incredible use of language. I never know what to expect from him but I can always trust that it will be great, and that it will challenge me as well. He has definitely opened my eyes up to a whole new genre of stories that I never thought I would come to love, and he has certainly inspired me to be more experimental when it comes to writing.

2. Which book has caused the biggest emotional response from you? (Not just sadness, but joy, anger, etc)

That’s easy. Not many books have made me cry but The Fault In Our Stars by John Green had me not only in an uncontrollable pool of tears, but there were moments where I couldn’t stop laughing out loud as well! John Green creates such wonderful characters that you can’t help but feel like they’re your very best friends, which also means you end up forming a rather strong attachment to them!

3. Which book do you wish you had written and why?

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I absolutely adore Laini’s imagination, and when I read it for the first time I literally fell in love and felt like it was the book I had been waiting for for years now! It feels like the sort of book I’d love to write myself, but I’m sure if I even attempted something similar it wouldn’t come out anywhere near as good…

4. Go to a bookcase at random, close your eyes and point at a random book. What is the book and have you read it yet?

Island by Jane Rogers and no I haven’t read it yet (I’m sure that comes as a surprise to you!) I found it in a charity shop recently and just had to have it after recently reading and loving The Testament of Jessie Lamb – which if you haven’t read yet then you really should!!

5. What is your favorite book and why? (One you’d save from fire, take to a deserted island and recommend everyday of your life)

My favourite book tends to change every few years, but this one has been my favourite for some time now and it’s proved to be a very hard one to beat, and that is The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. It was the first book that ever made me cry, and I instantly fell in love with Zusak’s writing style and talent, as have many others. I’m now waiting very patiently for something new from him!

Leave a Reply

